×

Announcing: Slashdot Deals - Explore geek apps, games, gadgets and more. (what is this?)

Thank you!

We are sorry to see you leave - Beta is different and we value the time you took to try it out. Before you decide to go, please take a look at some value-adds for Beta and learn more about it. Thank you for reading Slashdot, and for making the site better!

Google Fit Preview SDK Arrives For Android Developers

timothy posted about 4 months ago | from the want-to-sense-your-heart-beating dept.

Android 13

An anonymous reader writes "Google today released a preview SDK of Google Fit available to developers. The tool provides APIs for apps and device manufacturers to store and access activity data from fitness apps and sensors on Android and other devices (like wearables, heart rate monitors or connected scales). Google warns that the preview release contains the Google Fit APIs for Android, but does not contain the REST API or the Android Wear APIs, which will be included in the official release. Furthermore, while it will let you develop and test fitness apps, they cannot be published to Google Play until official release."

Sorry! There are no comments related to the filter you selected.

fat asses (-1)

Anonymous Coward | about 4 months ago | (#47626859)

Drink gayniggerseed for its natural slimming effects.

Teh Google Strikes Again (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 4 months ago | (#47626863)

To Better Capture Yours and Everyone's Data!

Give it Up!

Teh G! thanks YOU!

Restricted (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 4 months ago | (#47626981)

The interface seems to provide a bare minimum of utility, with the only utility already having a purpose baked-in. Huh.

So when will... (1)

Dracos (107777) | about 4 months ago | (#47626989)

I be able to use Android Studio to develop for Gingerbread instead of it throwing 72+ errors about the Holo theme not existing (because themes were only added in Honeycomb)? I've already changed all the instances of defaultTheme to none in the config files according to StackOverflow, but that didn't help.

Re:So when will... (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 4 months ago | (#47627243)

Are you using a normal action bar, or actionbar compat? I develop for Gingerbread+ all the time in Android Studio and it wasn't hard to set up at all...

No REST for the ... (1)

grcumb (781340) | about 4 months ago | (#47627113)

Google warns that the preview release contains the Google Fit APIs for Android, but does not contain the REST API or the Android Wear APIs....

Sorry, you're telling me that there's no REST for the FIT? Sounds exhausting....

Google Fitspo! (1)

napulist (3036789) | about 4 months ago | (#47627163)

Finally, technology that empowers and encourages everyone to develop an eating disorder!

Customizable reminders that you are a worthless fatty who no one will ever truly love!

MORE STEPS, TUBBO.

MORE.
FUCKING.
STEPS!

Sad misapprehensions. (1)

hsthompson69 (1674722) | about 4 months ago | (#47627303)

The idea that obesity can be overcome by "fitness", and the fallacy of calories in/calories out, has driven a metric crapton of health apps, and devices, predicated on that fallacy.

What they need to invent is a scanner you can pass over your food, that measures it's carbohydrate content, or some non-invasive device that can register your insulin response to something you ate.

I mean, look, it's cool and all if you enjoy running, and want to track your personal performance and all that jazz, but these apps are actually targeted to the obese people who aren't helped by this kind of intervention.

Stop eating carbohydrates. It's simple.

The Fitness Store (2)

m00sh (2538182) | about 4 months ago | (#47627433)

So, apparently this has a fitness store ... not a store to sell you stuff, but a storage of the user sensor data (snarkily probably a store for advertisers).

I think this might be a good idea. Recently motorola discontinued their motoactv watch and in the process also broke their website. So, your entire history went with that and your device became almost useless after that.

Also, the devices have made data overly fractured. The pedometer syncs to a different website than your running app. They don't want to co-operate. Maybe the fitness store will be one central repository for all that data.

I would rather have an open standard and have the encrypted data stored in dropbox but I guess this is the idea of the API.

Re:The Fitness Store (1)

tlhIngan (30335) | about 4 months ago | (#47628139)

That's why Apple and Google have developed health APIs into the OS - because they see all these sensors and gadgets are all working in incompatible ways.

Basically the goal is to gather all the data into a central location, and then each fitness app can extract the parts they want and use it on their own website if desired.

Basically the APIs isolate the gathering and collecting of data from the dissemination and analysis - so you can use any pedometer for counting steps, any heart monitor for your heartbeat/pressure, etc., then you can use your Nike+ app to analyze your data gathered or any other app.

Of course, I can only image what GOogle is going to use that data for... perhaps if you don't walk enough all your ads are going to be for walking desks and treadmills? Or if you have too high blood pressure you'll get low-sodium food ads and admonishments when you go into a fast food joint? Or if you're just so unhealthy, perhaps Google can recommend insurance policies and even pre-fill in the application forms?

Or imagine the insurance guys... well, combine Google Glass' ability to monitor everyone (so they can see you walking into a fast food joint instead of a health joint), combine that with the health data that Google collects, ...

A few years ago Google decided to "un-silo" everything by forcing everyone to use the same privacy policy. Perhaps it's time to have Google re-silo itself so there's no practical way for Google to integrate all this information together...

I don't trust Google with my data (-1)

Anonymous Coward | about 4 months ago | (#47628505)

So Google can go unsilo itself all it likes. They have my contacts and calendar but if it phones home with my biometrics they can get knotted.

Re:The Fitness Store (1)

Daniel Hoffmann (2902427) | about 4 months ago | (#47632311)

That would facilitate user switching their fitness apps, the established apps (runkeeper, nike, endomondo) would probably not implement it or delay its implementation as long as possible to avoid losing their userbase.

Of course there's no REST API (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 4 months ago | (#47627977)

Cuz a body in motion stays in motion...
A body at REST stays at rest.

- every sports apparel maker's ad copy

Check for New Comments
Slashdot Login

Need an Account?

Forgot your password?